Yet another blog !

Hi there!

So here we go, yet another blog…

The goal for this thing is to share bits and pieces of experience about digital photography on Linux. I have been a keen photographer for 6 good years now, starting with film and now using digital. You can see my pictures there: jcornuz.awardspace.com.

I happen to be also a fan of Linux (in its Ubuntu flavor these days) and I have had sometimes quite a bit of a hard time to reconcile Linux and Photography. So I am starting this blog with the hope to help some folks not losing as much time as me finding the right “trick”.

What you will find here:

  • tutorials (color management on Linux springs to mind)
  • software reviews (well, let’s say, “my opinion on some software”)
  • workflow stuff (making the most of your raw files without loosing your hair)
  • little bash scripts (that make life easier)

Blogosphere, here we go !

PS: let’s just put a picture there, so we remember photography is about images before technique… (shot in France on top of the Mont Ventoux)

ventoux.jpg

8 Responses to Yet another blog !

  1. Yves says:

    Hey there, I just wanted to tell you I think this is a great idea and I will be keeping an eye on this blog. You write your articles clearly and concise, yet still very informative. Thanks for the effort you are making!

    Yves

  2. jcornuz says:

    Hi Yves,

    Thanks for passing by (first comment, that counts🙂 ). I actually enjoy writing this blog much more than I thought – so I’ll try to keep up.

    Take care.

  3. vivosz says:

    Hi there! It seems that we both are writing about the same thing, and started almost simultaneously (I too found this topic underdocumented🙂 )! After reading most of your posts, I can say, I like what I have read! Fortunately you are focusing more on practice while i may be a bit theoretcal. Luckily my workflow differs from yours so i can write about mine without saying the same🙂.
    Anyway, all the best and keep up!

    vivosz
    http://photobuntu.wordpress.com/

  4. jcornuz says:

    Hello !

    OK, so we must be on to something then🙂

    Good luck with your blog !!

    Take care,

    Joel

  5. Seth says:

    Happy New Year!

    I just wanted to drop you a line and say I ABSOLUTELY LOVE YOUR BLOG!!! It was actually in my New Year’s resolution to show gratitude for this blog. Thanks for helping to de-mystify Linux color managment. I feared I was going to have to keep using xp for a while longer just to support my emerging photography habit.

    I find your info interesting, coherent and accurate to the very last detail. Keep up the good work and thanks a lot for your effort and sharing.

    Seth

  6. jcornuz says:

    Hi Seth,

    Now you are making me start the new year in a happy way – a perfect example of a self-fulfilling prophecy🙂
    I enjoy very much writing this blog; I have a few more ideas for entries and comments such as this one are a good fuel.

    Thanks

    Joel

  7. Ulrich says:

    Nice page with lot’s of hints.
    Please add more.
    ______
    Panasonic LZ-20, Picasa (up to now) and F-Spot (from now on)

  8. teemoran says:

    Just found your blog, I’m considering a switch to Linux myself and this is just the kind of information I’m after. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

