Back from holidays…

… with a couple of images:

Alps and clouds, close to Gruyere – yes, the cheese is named after the place which is famous for its castle and its milk – hence the (aforementioned) cheese and clotted cream… that is, if you still follow.

A regatta on Lake Geneva. For the treatment, I put a lot of contrast – via curves – and then removed about 30 points of saturation. I like this look quite a bit…

For the rest, I’ll catch up on emails and comments; there are some interesting entries coming up for the blog, but some time is required for me to write them… or for developers to write programs.

So stay tuned.

6 Responses to Back from holidays…

  1. Neil McShane says:

    Hi Joel,
    Two wonderfull images you got there.

  2. jcornuz says:

    Neil, you made my day – especially important when back from vacations🙂

  3. It’s always fun getting back into the swing of things after vacation. My ideal vacation would be just to take a week and wander around the state lands and parks with my family and my camera. My in-laws live in California, my wife and I in New York… My vacations are usually reserved for trips west.

    Those are great shots. I love pictures of the sky and the color, or lack of, on the sailboats is nice. I’m going to have to try out the technique you used on the boat on some of my shots. Did you do the saturation and contrast adjustments to the raw file or jpeg?

  4. Trolette says:

    Nice pictures and above all nice holidays !🙂

  5. jcornuz says:

    Hi John,

    California, yeah !!

    Both images are RAW processed with Rawstudio. I only did a bit of local contrast unsharp mask in Cinepaint.

    Take care,

    Joel

  6. I’m going to have to install CinePaint and spend a little more time with RawStudio. I gave it a try the other day and didn’t have much luck with it. Seems to be I’ve been able to get better results from UFRaw.

    Thanks for the great blog. I’ve found a lot of value in it so far.

Leave a Reply

