When Real Life (TM) takes over…

June has been a hectic month, as can be seen by the lack of updates on this blog. Not that there are no ideas for new articles, but that writing good stuff requires time.

In the meantime, I was in Paris for a long week-end. This is always a great photographic opportunity. I picked my “light bag” again, ie my 35mm f/2.0 with my trusted(?) *istDS body.

It had a Cartier-Bressonian feel… until you review your pictures, that is.

The good: Asus EEE

It was also my first trip with the EEE as “super card reader” and it did a good job – picking the free hotel wifi and reviewing my images. RawStudio is usable on it (thanks to the “full screen” F11 key) and the interaction latency for RAW files demosaicing and tweaking is acceptable – but this is on a 6mp camera.

The fun bit was to review the images at the end: the key combination for “next image” in RawStudio is Ctrl + Right Arrow which are on both sides of the keyboard: I had the impression of having a Gameboy in my hands🙂 .

The bad: camera breakage

The view finder started getting darker and darker and then all at once the autofocus was not able to focus anymore… then I realized that the lens was stuck on f/16 or so – something wrong in the tidbit that keeps the lens wide open and closes it to the desired diaph when shooting. There was nothing to do about it but thanks to Pentax retro-compatibility, I was able to set the diaphragm ring on f/5.6, use the autofocus and have an acceptable light in the viewfinder. Good stuff I had taken the 35mm that still has a diaphragm ring.

Still that sucks and I hope the camera is fixable – if anyone has an idea?

The images

Well, there are plenty and I haven’t reviewed them seriously yet. However, there is one serie that jumped to my eyes as being good images that work well together. They are from the Centre Georges Pompidou.

8 Responses to When Real Life (TM) takes over…

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Regardless, just wanted to say superb blog!

  2. Superb blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..
    Any suggestions? Appreciate it!

  3. Because the admin of this site is working, no
    question very rapidly it will be renowned, due to
    its quality contents.

  4. I am really loving the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A small number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.
    Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  5. I constantly spent my half an hour to read this blog’s posts everyday along with a
    cup of coffee.

  6. I think this is one of the most significant info for me. And i’m glad
    reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really
    great : D. Good job, cheers

  7. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your website.
    It seems like some of the written text on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to
    them as well? This could be a problem with my internet
    browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thanks

  8. Its not my first time to visut this web site, i am visiting this web site dailly and get
    good data from here every day.

Leave a Reply

