Paris new gallery… and camera repaired

Spending a week-end in Paris was a chance to take loads of pictures – there were enough doomed acceptable to create a new Paris (Black & White) gallery on my image site.

During the week-end, I also experienced the “pleasure” of having a camera break – it didn’t prevent me from taking pictures (fortunately) but still. After fiddling with my diaph for a bit without success, I had to return the camera to Pentax for service. A week (and 170.- CHF) later, all is back in order.

When you have no camera and no cash to buy a new one for the moment, all of a sudden, discussions about a future 3k$ FF take another perspective. Maybe a lesson to learn?

And of course, Bonne Fête Nationale to the French readers.

7 Responses to Paris new gallery… and camera repaired

  1. Your photos from the trip look great. I especially like this one:

    http://jcornuz.awardspace.com/index.php?rep=paris_nb&pic=2&lang=EN

    It’s simple and pleasing to look at. I’m going to have to give B&W photography a try. Do you shoot with your camera set to B&W, or do you convert it on the computer? I have read that with the ability to shoot RAW+JPEG, B&W can be fun without losing the color data. You get to see in the field approximately what it’s going to look like on the computer.

    That’s a bummer about your camera. Glad you got it back though. I can’t imagine what I’ll do if/when my camera breaks.

  2. Glenn says:

    Here’s how I convert tifs to greyscale using ImageMagick:
    convert imgp$ImageNumber.tif -fx ‘0.7*r+0.25*g+0.05*b’ imgp”$ImageNumber”grey.tif
    (70%Red 25%Green 5%Blue)
    FF (FilmFrame) is unnecessary hot air BS. The future is ‘computational photography’. This is using multiple tiny sensors integrated together with lenses. Imagine if you have three lenses looking at the same part of a scene. In your computer you can combine the outputs to get amazing dynamic range and even 3-D. Now think of dozens (or more) of these sensors/lenses. The resulting photos will crush anything made by these Luddites who are looking to the past with their silly focus on sensor sizes. I would add a third F to FF to represent the word Folly.

  3. jcornuz says:

    Hi there,

    There is an entry about B&W conversion here: https://jcornuz.wordpress.com/2007/11/06/converting-a-color-image-to-black-and-white

    Very close to what Glenn does, actually. For the Paris trip, however, this is just desaturation and curves work from Rawstudio – lazy me…

    John, I appreciate your comment on pictures – I sometimes feel entangled by technique with this blog🙂

    Take care,

    Joel

  4. BDion says:

    I’m running Iceweasel/3.0 (Debian-3.0~rc2-1) on Sidux, your gallery comes up with the outlines of where the images should be but no images.

    Thanks again for your blog
    Bob

  5. Héric says:

    Hello from a french reader

    Spending some time in Paris without saying “hello guys” to french linux users & photographers … tsss what à shame !!! :oD

    No regrets however : i was in Bretagne, “France-other” as you say ;o)

    http://www.zooomr.com/photos/heric/sets/34983/

  6. Neil McShane says:

    Hi Joel,
    A nice panel of images you got there from Paris. Some very interesting images with none being you standard picture postcard stuff. Well done.

    Neil

  7. jcornuz says:

    Hi there,

    @ Héric, Le Crouesty reminds me of my best holidays ever: sailing in Bretagne🙂 so thanks for sharing. By the way, I hate the name France-other as well but couldn’t come up with a better one.

    @ Neil: thanks for this comment. I feel very much at ease with just a 35mm hanging around in a city. Maybe I am starting to find my style ??🙂

    Take care

    Joel

Leave a Reply

