When real life (TM) kicks in

As you will have noticed, I haven’t been able to update this blog very much over the last couple of months or so. The reason for that is that we are moving to Montreal, Canada, which means “just a few things” to sort out. So not much time left for blogging.

Still, I haven’t abandoned the Linux & Photography Blog and hope to update it as time permits. I even have a couple of ideas for new articles🙂 .

In the meantime, here is an image from my recent trip to Paris… to get our Canadian visas:

18 Responses to When real life (TM) kicks in

  1. Rolf says:

    I know only two people from Geneva – and both will live in America. Is Geneva expelling it’s citizens? Or are you afraid from little black holes?😉

    All the best for your family and you!

    Take your time – but keep up this blog. It’s a great resource for us all. And I may even understand Colour Mangement soon….

  2. Guillaume says:

    Well, a future welcome in Québec! I hope you have a great time here!

  3. Thomas says:

    Very nice image. the contrast between the foliage and the glass is superb.

  4. Bobber says:

    Can you give details on what part Linux played in the photo? Was it processed with Gimp and decraw? Did you use any proprietary software at all?

    Thanks!

  5. Hub says:

    What brings you to the cold ?🙂

    I stil need to move back to Montreal.

  6. nadavkav says:

    thank you for a beautiful and informative blog
    have great time in Canada🙂

  7. Mononeil says:

    Two things Joel.
    That’s some move and what a wonderful image.
    Regards Neil

  8. Michael Baranov says:

    Congrats on getting your visas and welcome to Canada!
    Feel free to drop by whenever you get to Ottawa😉

  9. Georg says:

    I’d say bienvenue – except that I’m (physically) too far away for that :-S
    Hope you have a splendid time in this great city!

    P.S: thank you for this wonderful blog! It really brings together many threads of information that I’ve long searched for all over the net…

  10. Davros says:

    Welcome to Canada. The blog slowing down is understandable, but it better not dissappear, i have come to like it too much, and now you are only a 14 hour drive from me (as opposed to an ocean away) so I can potentially find you.🙂 I work at an airport and many flights from Europe headed to Montreal stop here to refuel first. If you get a flight that will stop in Halifax, Nova Scotia please tell me so I can say hello in person.

  11. neri says:

    Welcome to Canada, I made that move 3 years ago from Germany and I totally understand what you are going through. I hope you had it planned out better then me. 1 month and a half is a little short from making the decision to boarding a plane. Anyway, it was well worth it for me and I hope it turns out just as good for you. Keep on taking pictures and using Linux.

    Just one more hint, upon entering Canada with a work visa, when the officer asks you: “How long do you plan on staying in Canada, Sir?” Don’t answer with “I don’t know”. They don’t take that all that well😛

  12. jcornuz says:

    Hi there,

    Thanks for your support everyone. Customs let us pass by (always a good thing) and we are gently settling in. Looks like there are LOADS of photographic opportunities around, but we already start feeling the cold…

    My main computer is still on its way (hopefully) so blogging will resume when it’s back in action.

    Take care,

    Joel

  13. Davros says:

    Joel:

    I forgot to mention I have friends in Montreal. If you would like to me ask them to show you around, help you settle in, I will and I am sure they would be very glad to do so

  14. Rolf says:

    @Davros: You could also ask your friends to prod Joel with a stick if he doesn’t blog. Saves you the car ride.😉

    Joel, keep your feet warm!

  15. Claude Dumas says:

    Why Montreal is a great place to live ?

    1) 4 true diversified seasons
    2) depression-resistent economy due to his hydro power, nat resource, low debt (canada)
    3) art-oriented city
    4) near Quebec City, one on the most beautiful city on earth
    5) many linux users 😉
    6) french-based culture,
    7) excellent integretion of immigrants

  16. jcornuz says:

    Plus it looks like the Libre Graphics Meeting 2009 will be held in Montreal; I wanted to make sure not to miss it🙂

  17. RBellavance says:

    Bienvenue à Montréal !🙂

  18. trollette says:

    Qu’est-ce qu’elle est belle ta photo !😉

Leave a Reply

