RawSpeed and Rawstudio: exciting projects

These are exciting times for photography on Linux. With Krita 2.0 round the corner and GIMP getting (some) higher bit depth functionalities in its next 2.8 version.

Rawstudio is not sitting still either with a couple of great projects down the line.

First, there is this rewrite project to turn operations into plugins. The idea is to make it easier to create new operations and make them optional so as to keep Rawstudio core tiny and speedy:

I see the following reasons for a (simple) plugin-infrastructure in Rawstudio:

  1. We keep getting requests for exotic and specific ideas that doesn’t belong in the Rawstudio core, but many are very valid feature requests.
  2. We need to do something to limit interdependencies inside Rawstudio. We’re not far from spaghetti-code.
  3. 3rd party developers could contribute easier.
  4. We need an easy path from idea to implementation, as of now it’s a long and hard walk to implement even a simple filter.

Plus there is a blog entry from Klaus Post announcing RawSpeed, a new RAW file loader designed for speed, which will be used by Rawstudio

So my main objectives were to make a very fast loader that worked for 75% of the cameras out there, and was able to decode a RAW file at close to the optimal speed. The last 25% of the cameras out there could be serviced by a more generic loader, or convert their images to DNG – which as a sidenote usually compresses better than your camera.

If you combine these news, we are looking into: an enhanced RAW processing software and high bitdepth retouching softwares available for two main tookits (QT and GTK). Nice 🙂

Also, the World Press 2009 winners have been published…

8 Responses to RawSpeed and Rawstudio: exciting projects

  1. G’MIC rocks. It took me some hours to understand it but now I see the possibilities. Granted, it contains many operations that can be considered “toys”, but thethink it definitely is up to the task.

  2. I go to see day-to-day some websites and blogs to read articles
    or reviews, except this webpage provides quality based writing.

  3. Thank you for sharing your info. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  4. There is certainly a great deal to learn about this topic.

    I really like all of the points you have made.

  5. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog visitors have complained about my
    site not working correctly in Explorer but
    looks great in Opera. Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  6. The other day, while I was at work, my sister stole my
    iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she
    can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views.

    I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  7. watch review says:

    Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your web site
    in web explorer, could test this? IE still is the
    marketplace chief and a large element of other
    people will leave out your magnificent writing due to this problem.

Leave a comment